Connor Mackenzie Named Top Goaltender Of The Year In AJHL

Connor Mackenzie

The Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL), in partnership with RBC, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022-23 League Awards in seven categories.  The annual awards include Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year.

All award winners are determined through three stages of voting by the General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League.

Top Goaltender (Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy)

Connor Mackenzie of the Grande Prairie Storm is the recipient of the Friends of AJHL Trophy as the Top Goaltender for the 2022-23 season.  The annual award is presented to the goalie who demonstrated the greatest ability in his position throughout the season.

Mackenzie (Toronto, ON) leads the AJHL with a .929 save percentage in his second season with the Storm and was selected as the Viterra AJHL Star of the Game 13 times.  The 2002-born goaltender has a 2.86 GAA and two shutouts.

Connor Mackenzie has been nominated by the Storm as the RBC AJHL Community Ambassador in recognition of his exemplary commitment to the community.  His ‘Lift the Mask’ initiative has raised awareness about mental health and $30,000 for the Canadian Mental Health Association Alberta Northwest Region.


  • 2022-2023 Award Finalists: Connor Mackenzie – Grande Prairie Storm, Erick Roest – Sherwood Park Crusaders, Ethan Barwick – Brooks Bandits, Freddie Halyk – Camrose Kodiaks
  • 2021-2022 Award Winner: Kolby Thornton, Lloydminster Bobcats

The winners of the following League Awards and Scholarships will also be announced at the completion of the regular season and throughout the 2023 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs. 


  • Viterra All-League and All-Rookie Team
  • Inter Pipeline AJHL All-Academic Team
  • Regular Season ChampionDave Duchak Trophy
  • Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
  • Top Goal Scorer
  • Top Team Goaltenders – CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
  • Viterra Star of the Game Standings Leader – Viterra Cup
  • Stewy Stewart Memorial Award Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
  • AJHL Executive of the Year – Ken Bracko Award
  • Viterra Salute to Service Volunteer Award – North & South Division Recipient
  • Inter Pipeline AJHL Scholarship
  • Open Circle AJHL Scholarship – North & South Division Recipient
  • RBC Community Ambassador Scholarship – North & South Division Recipient
  • Dr. Oetker AJHL Greatest Teammate Award Scholarship – North & South Division Recipient

To read more please visit: